Joe Lapchick Character Award

10 Mistywood Lane . Trumbull, CT 06611 . email:

Brown will present Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame high school coach Morgan Wootten on Nov. 15 at a luncheon at the New York Athletic Club. Brown played for Wootten at DeMatha H.S. in Hyattsville, Md. from 1967-69 before going on to a successful playing career at Harvard.

Wootten was the head coach at DeMatha for 46 years, compiling a 1,274-192 record while winning five national championships. His program produced future NBA players, including Adrian Dantley and Danny Ferry, and became one of the most powerful in the country.

Grentz, who won 671 games as coach at Saint Joseph's, Rutgers and Illinois, will present Naismith Hall of Fame coach Cathy Rush, whom she played for during the amazing run of Immaculata College in the early 1970s.

Grentz was the coach of U.S. women's Olympic team in Barcelona in 1992, winning a bronze medal.

Just two years out of school herself, Rush led tiny Immaculata to the first three national championships conducted by the AIAW (1972-74) and six Final Fours in the organization's first seven seasons with Grentz as the top player. Rush compiled a 149-15 record in seven seasons and her Mighty Macs played in the first nationally televised women's college game (Maryland, 1975) and in the first appearance by a women's team at Madison Square Garden (Queens College, 1975).

Jack Powers, the former coach at Manhattan College who went on to run the National Invitation Tournament as executive director from 1988-2005, will present Naismith Hall of Famer C.M. Newton.

The two are on the NCAA's current committee which runs the NIT with Newton serving as chairman.

A graduate of Kentucky, where he was recruited by Adolph Rupp and was a member of the 1952 national championship team, Newton had a record of 500-374 as coach at Transylvania College, Alabama and Vanderbilt. He was the athletic director at Kentucky as it recovered from NCAA violations, served as chairman of the NCAA men's basketball tournament selection committee and rules committee, and was instrumental in international basketball as an assistant coach to the 1984 U.S. team and later as director of USA Basketball.

Darall Imhoff will be the presenter for the late Pete Newell, a Naismith Hall of Famer who coached California to the national championship in 1959 and the title game the next season. Imhoff was the star center of those teams before going on to a 12-year NBA career, including six solid seasons with the Los Angeles Lakers in the 1970s.

Newell is considered one of the coaching greats, compiling a 119-44 record in a 14-year career that ended at age 44 for what many considered health reasons while others said it was over his disdain for the spotlight. He, Dean Smith and Bob Knight are the only coaches to win NIT and NCAA titles and an Olympic gold medal. Newell's 1960 U.S. team featured Oscar Robertson and Jerry West. Newell died in 2008 at age 93.

The honorees will be recognized the night of the luncheon at Madison Square Garden during the 2K Sports Classic, benefiting the Wounded Warrior Project.

James Brown, the host of CBS' NFL Today, and longtime women's college basketball coach Theresa Grentz are among the presenters for the 2012 Lapchick Character Awards.